Speyside Visitor Centre
Speyside Visitor Centre is located within the former Railway Station Building which was extended in 2004 to accommodate the new Speyside Way Visitor Centre to provide a base for the Speyside Way Ranger and Information Service.
The Railway was opened in Aberlour on 1st July, 1863 and operated fully until closure to Passenger Traffic on 18th October, 1965. The Railway Line ran between Craigellachie and Boat of Garten. The Line continued to carry Goods traffic up to Aberlour until 4th November, 1968 when traffic South of Aberlour was closed. This situation pertained so that the coalyard could continue to service the many distilleries around the Aberlour area. The line finally closed altogether on 15th November, 1971 as the demand for coal was reducing as the distilleries were converting to other sources of energy .
The Station Building was purchased by Moray District Council and was renovated along with the Public Toilets during 1979/80, simultaneous to development of the Alice Littler Park which is overlooked by the Building. The Old Station Tearoom, (ie The Old Station Building) was started as a Tearoom run by a team of Volunteers and both were officially opened by Sydney Littler on 2nd August, 1980 – the day of Aberlour Strathspey Highland Games.
The Speyside Way Visitor Centre closed in 2013 due to Local Authority cuts and after negotiation Aberlour Community Association took over the facility, as Speyside Visitor Centre, from 2014 to operate on a Seasonal basis with a team of Volunteers.
The Centre is now firmly established dealing with Visitors and enquiries from all over the World for 6 months of the year.
One of Scotland’s long-distance walks, the Speyside Way, passes our front door, but there are hosts of local and shorter distance walks to be enjoyed from the centre as you explore the majesty that is Speyside.
We will be adding a few galleries giving the viewer an insight into life in Speyside, past & present shortly… watch this space